Loading Events

« All Events

Tax Update for SAICA International members

April 22

The content will be designed to provide the SAICA International Members with a high-level understanding of the topics outlined below, with an opportunity for a Q&A at the end of the session.

Speaker – Deborah Tickle CA(SA)
Deborah is an adjunct associate professor at the University of Cape Town where she currently lectures the Tax Masters course. As managing partner of the tax department at KPMG (Cape Town), she led the tax team there for 10 of the 31 years that she spent consulting to large, listed and global clients of the firm. She serves on the Davis Tax Committee, formed by the Minister of Finance to establish whether South African tax policy aligns and supports overall government policy. She has also served on the national tax committee of the SAICA (one year as deputy chair) and continues to serve on the Southern Region Tax Committee. She also runs a tax blog under the name TickleonTax.

Topics will include:

  • Latest news on Exchange Control “Financial’ emigration and the impact on both retirement funds and also on inheritance for, inter alia, non-resident children.
  • Recap on “tax residence” for South African tax purposes;
  • Other ExCon changes e.g. looping and the associated tax changes including a brief look at CFC’s;
  • Non-SA tax resident trusts and their tax treatment from an SA perspective (especially in light of the recent changes)

Date & Time

Thursday, 22 April

Time – please note this session will be 1.5 hours across these different time zones

9:00 – 10:30 Los Angeles

12:00 – 13:30 New York

13:00 – 14:30 Bermuda/Cayman

17:00 – 18:30 UK

18:00 – 19:30 SA/Europe

Cost

Complimentary

Details

Date:
April 22
Event Category:

Venue

Online